The stars shined bright on Saturday, October 28 as USTA Colorado honored its top players and celebrated the achievements and contributions of industry leaders. The annual Colorado Tennis Hall of Fame and USTA Colorado Annual Awards event benefits the Colorado Youth Tennis Foundation (CYTF) which promotes the physical, emotional and social development of all youth to aspire to become active, productive and responsible citizens.

The Gala was held at Infinity Park Event Center and is the annual signature event to honor Colorado players, coaches, volunteers, administrators and other leaders for their contributions to the sport. This year the organization inducted two members to the Hall of Fame.

Emceed by Christine Chang Gillette and Andy Zodin the event highlighted the top two Hall of Fame inductees this year: Krista Damico and Lt. Col. Dan Oosterhous. This is the USTA Colorado’s 23rd class of inductees, bringing the total number of members to 103.

Damico grew up in Parker and is best known as a junior women’s champion and a standout at the University of Texas. She competed in the girls’ singles draw at the U.S. Open as well as the girls’ qualifying events at Wimbledon and the Australian Open. She lead the Texas Longhorns on a 14-match unbeaten streak in her senior year.

As head coach of the USAFA Falcon men’s tennis team Lt. Col. Oosterhous has led the team to new heights for decades. This past season Air Force is coming off its second straight winning season in 2023 and the third in the last four seasons. The Falcons earned a national ranking of 63 in February, 2023, tying for the highest ranking in program history.

In 2022 USTA Colorado’s steadily growing league program achieved one of its highest levels of player participation in its history which requires more resources and facilities. In addition, USTA Colorado presented the following annual awards:

On-Court Achievement Awards
Male Player of the Year: Ignatius Castelino
Female Player of the Year: Taylor Melville
Senior Player of the Year: Hiko Fritz-Krockow

Sportsmanship Awards
Quinn Bernthal

Malaika Chinyerere
Trevor Hajek
Leslie Jimenez
Blake and Sebastian Wright

Service Awards
Mike Brohard
– Dorothy Mauk Media Excellence of the Year Award
Omar Campos Family – Carter & Lena Elliott Family of the Year Award
Denver Tennis Park – E. L. Griffey Organization of the Year Award
Cindy McLemore – Jody Riser Knudsen Volunteer of the Year Award
CD Bodam – Tennis Industry Award
Adam Burbary – Tennis Industry Award
Kendall Chitambar – Arthur Ashe Award (service to under-served communities)
Diane Westlind – Clyde Rogers Award (longtime service to recreational players)
Leanne Palmisano – Bud Robineau Award (longtime service to the tennis community)

Tennis Industry Award
CD Bodam
Adam Burbary

CYTF organizers like to say that tennis teaches skills a young person can take off the court and into life. For more information on the organization please visit


Blacktie Colorado
Blacktie Colorado