Each year, Rocky Mountain Junior Achievement and the Denver Metro Chamber of Commerice kick off the philanthropic year with the Colorado Business Hall of Fame awards. Colorado Business Hall of Fame laureates are part of a league of outstanding individuals who have made legendary contributions to the free enterprise system. The values of these exemplary individuals serve as role models for the JA’s curriculum for rising young stars.

This year’s honorees are:

Sue Anschutz-Rodgers
Sue Anschutz-Rodgers serves as trustee, chair of the board, and president of the Anschutz Family Foundation, which is dedicated to improving the quality of life for individuals and communities. She has dedicated a good portion of her life to charitable work with nonprofit boards.

Joe Blake
A Denver native, Joe Blake has been a vital part of the business and educational landscape of Colorado for more than five decades. While his early career included such diverse pursuits as FBI agent, legislative aide and real estate developer, many Coloradoans know him best as the former president of the Denver Metro Chamber of Commerce. Blake also helped create Highlands Ranch and bring major league baseball to Colorado, and he served as the first-ever chancellor of the Colorado State University System.

Terry Considine
Terry Considine is a life-long Colorado entrepreneur focused on business, politics and family. An active real estate investor for more than 45 years, he has served as CEO of four Real Estate Investment Trusts (REITs) and has served as chief executive officer and chairman of the board of Apartment Investment Management Company (Aimco), since 1994. In addition to his extensive business contributions, Considine is active in politics and was elected twice to the Colorado Senate (1987 to 1992).

Curtis Fentress
An architect and business leader, Curtis Fentress has graced the city of Denver with such structures as the Colorado Convention Center, Sports Authority Field and Denver International Airport, among others. And while his business is headquartered in Denver, the work of Fentress Architects extends far beyond state lines to include structures such as Seattle-Tacoma International Airport in Seattle and the Arraya Tower in Kuwait City. Fentress was honored in 2010 by the American Institute of Architects with the Thomas Jefferson Award, the highest award for public architecture.

George & David Griffith
In 1858, two Kentucky-born brothers, George and David Griffith, headed west in search of gold. George and David Griffith’s quest for adventure and minds for business led to tremendous financial and community development in what we now know as the communities of Georgetown and Silver Plume, Colorado.

Ronald Moore
Prior to his death in 2003, Ron Moore was an icon in the Denver community and was the chairman and owner of Denver-based Guaranty Bank & Trust. Along with his wife, Carol, Moore was a major contributor to the community and a strong advocate for education.

Congratulations to all of the honorees and their families. For more information, log on to www.jacolorado.org and www.denverchamber.org.